Martin Luther King-Forty years ago Today…

Forty years ago today Martin Luther King was shot down outside his Memphis motel room.  He knew he lived in a society that was far from perfect, but was driven to make that society not only free for his people but free for all people.

As we remember his life, let us also remember his final public speech, one that for me speaks more to hope and drive than even the “I Have a Dream Speech”:

It really doesn’t matter what happens now. I left Atlanta this morning, and as we got started on the plane, there were six of us. The pilot said over the public address system, “We are sorry for the delay, but we have Dr. Martin Luther King on the plane. And to be sure that all of the bags were checked, and to be sure that nothing would be wrong with on the plane, we had to check out everything carefully. And we’ve had the plane protected and guarded all night.”And then I got into Memphis. And some began to say the threats, or talk about the threats that were out. What would happen to me from some of our sick white brothers?

Well, I don’t know what will happen now. We’ve got some difficult days ahead. But it really doesn’t matter with me now, because I’ve been to the mountaintop. And I don’t mind.

Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the Promised Land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land!

And so I’m happy, tonight.
I’m not worried about anything.
I’m not fearing any man!
Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord!!

…and so shall we all, some day.  May we all have the faith that moves mountains, and a willingness to work to reach our own Mountain Tops

Dem Central offers this account of the event.

Martin Luther King, January 15, 1929-April 4, 1968

8 thoughts on “Martin Luther King-Forty years ago Today…

  1. Instead of repeating the myth, I encourage a careful examination of the real King; the MLK who incited riots and extorted money from political and business leaders under the threat of mass rioting by “his people.” Because of King, rioting and looting have become a tradition in the American Negro community that has survived and still thrives today, as evidenced by the New Orleans riots after hurricane Katrina.

    I was around when Marchin’ Lootin’ King gave his speeches and watched as he incited the Negroes into acts of violence, mostly directed at Jewish business owners who had long served the Negro neighborhoods.

    I encourage anyone who has the time, to view unedited videos of King. I recommend the unedited videos, so that one may recognize King’s careful selection of phrases designed to incite, and his darkly artful use of the double entendre.

    An honest review of correspondence and meetings between political leaders (Johnson, Kennedy, etc.) and King, along with a review of the unedited speeches given by him, expose how King was masterful at cloaking his racial extortion in rhetoric of the civil rights movement.

    It is not sufficient to see edited versions of films, or read text of the speeches. When one sees the unedited videos, the sidewards glances, the inflection of his voice and other non-verbal gestures to his audience, expose the real King; just another corrupt Negro preacher, who preyed upon the emotions of the moment to enrich himself.

    Once someone has passed away, I believe it is best to not speak ill of them. However, one should not allow a myth to supplant the truth as has been the case with King’s story.

  2. Well, when you break away from your responsbilities with Mitt Romney, I hope you will be sure to come back and post links to those various sources you allude to…

  3. JTB is a Romney guy? I can’t stop laughing.

    Seriously though, all humans are made of clay. From dust to dust. So, all persons are sinners. But, there is a time to remember people for what they did best.

    Today is a day of praise for the life of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Anything less is really disrespectful and unkind – and un-Virginian.

  4. One day America will smarten up about. In the meantime it celebrates myths – like the nonviolence of King. Martin Luther King was a lowlife black racist. He is partly responsible for the race riots of the 1960’s and the 40+ years America has had of rampant black-on-White crime.

    I’m sick of seeing photos and videos of King on the news this week. The only photos of King I ever enjoyed were the ones from Memphis with his neck exploding as he received justice.

    That black America continues to celebrate the empty windbag Martin Luther King is funny. That some White Americans respect King – that’s just pathetic.

  5. I agree that we should seek to celebrate the good that those who have passed have done. We should always insist on a truthful account of history. In the case of MLK, in order to see the truth, one must take the time to review the unedited speeches and transcripts. I encourage anyone with an interest in this period of history to not rely on excerpts or sound-bite versions provided by the networks.

    My prior post was only to alert others to seek the whole story of King and to not buy-in to the current mythology being paraded out by the Left.

    If one would like to read about someone who preceded King in the Civil Rights movement and from whom King borrowed much of his rhetoric, read about Dr. James Farmer.

    By the way, when Dr. Farmer’s leadership was honored by having a bust installed at Mary Washington College, keynote speaker, Ambassador Andrew Young, was elated to learn that the Sons of Confederate Veterans had representatives on hand (including me) at the ceremony, to share in honoring the late Dr. Farmer’s commitment to civil liberties for ALL citizens.

  6. Lyn – I don’t think I’ve ever read or heard such a hateful comment as yours.
    The only pictures of King you’ve enjoyed are the ones with “his neck exploding…”.

    I’m not a complete admirer of King, but I’m old enough to remember coming from Massachussetts to Florida in the early 50s and for the first time in my life see the signs above water fountains: “WHITES” and “COLOREDS”. Folks “of color” were not able to sit at fast-food counters, had to go to the back of the bus, most of all: SEPARATE SCHOOLS!

    I certainly hope you don’t have children to contaminate with your absurd hatred>

  7. Bwana, you did a wonderful post that inspired me to also put up a YouTube clip of the Rev. King’s famous and stirring speech.

    How sad, though, that your post evoked such bigotry. And yes, it was nothing but bigotry.

  8. Lyn – People like you are so weak and want to blame everybody else for your failures. Someday you may grow up and realize it takes a strong character to embrace peace and love. Right now, you represent the type of person who is always afraid and cannot move beyond your very narrow view of the world. Time to grow up!!

Leave a Reply

