Quick Hits from the Cane

There’s got to be a morning after…and so it is.

Left knee got scoped yesterday, and have not yet required any heavy meds.  I am now on a cane which, although metal, looks quite sporty and can be customized so that it splits into two parts and can be used a nunchuck.

While my inclincation was to go with both knees, my physician raised An Uncomfortable Truth…my weight is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay north of where it should be, and he had great concerns about me carrying this weight on two recovering knees.  So, one it was.

A Knee on wednesday, start something like WW next week, and sometime this summer get the right knee done.

First, a word to RK fans-the use of the word “cane” in my posts is to be used only during the current mobility crisis and will not pose a copyright risk.

Second, It is interesting to see how the Dem blogs are united in refusing to attribute anything postitive to Frank Wolf for the approval of the Dulles Rail Project…not surprising, just interesting.

Third, you may find it interesting that Bwana, who has not had any real surgery done since his tonsils got yanked 43 years ago, had a very interesting reaction to anethesia.  According to SWMBO, after I got the first boost of knock out stuff,  the following happened:

    a) I took on a look as if I was drunk; then
    b) I started telling jokes to the nurses; then
    c) Finally, I broke into “What I Did for Love” from A Chorus Line for the benefit of the Pre-Op crowd, for which I received rousing applause.

Of course, this is all second hand-I remember none of it.  However, to paraphrase the editor of the Shinbone Star, “when legend overwhelms fact, print the legend.”

Later, friend and neighbors…

UPDATE: At 0800, the big throb kicked in…and the heavy meds came into play.  More to come…

3 thoughts on “Quick Hits from the Cane

  1. I hope someone took a video of your singing performance!

    Seriously, Bwana, take it easy and get well soon.

  2. “What I did for love” is one of my favorite songs of all time…
    Hmmm…Bwana…I am thinking some good drinks at the beach, and then some serious sing-a-longs!!!
    FEEL BETTER!!!

  3. Bwana:
    Apparently we have different reactions to anethesia. I was talking to the nurse and the next thing I knew, I was waking up and I felt like I had a hangover and my throat was sore (which I thought of as odd, because I had given up smoking three years ago. I also said that out loud) Well, glad you made it through the surgery well and hope the one later this summer goes even better for you. Take care and get well soon,

    BFIV

Leave a Reply

