Go Rocco!

SO, this afternoon do I pull for the all time great player who is still recovering from a knee surgery (something I know a little about) that is appearing to be a little more serious than let on?

OR

Do I pull for the balding middle aged guy (stand up and say amen!) who has never won a major, has not won a tournament in six years, and has chronic back problems?

You might say I have a foot in both camps…

But I have to pull for Rocco. Frankly, I don’t think Tiger should have played in the US Open, and I hope that having to play an additional play-off round doesn’t do real injury to his as yet unhealed left knee. He can rack up the next of his path to two dozen major wins some other day-give this to the unknown guy, the “Tin Cup” of the bunch.

So, I guess my real hope for this afternoon goes something like this…Rocco and Tiger stay close all afternoon. On one of the late holes Tiger hits a shot too long that takes a horrible hop, hits Johnny Miller in the larynx, and Miller is unable to broadcast in snide tones for the balance of his career.

The stroke and distance penalty gives Rocco the room he needs to edge through and win. Tiger, furious with himself, goes home and passes on the British Open to allow for full recuperation, and then wins the PGA later this summer.

It could happen, right?

Postscript:  Well, it didn’t, but our guy put up the good fight…and took enough out of Tiger that he is out the rest of the golfing season.  So he obviously went down swinging! (no pun intended)

Great job, Rocco!

3 thoughts on “Go Rocco!

  1. I have to pull for Rocco. Frankly, I don’t think Tiger should have played in the US Open, and I hope that having to play an additional play-off round doesn’t do real injury to his as yet unhealed left knee. He can rack up the next of his path to two dozen major wins some other day-give this to the unknown guy, the “Tin Cup” of the bunch.

Leave a Reply

