The World Loses an Original, and I’m Going to Miss Him…

The World lost an original last night…

STEVE JOBS, 1955-2011

“Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. About the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.” — Steve Jobs

… and the only upside I can find is that Mr. Jobs no longer suffers from the pain of the pancreatic cancer that afflicted him.

But this AM, as I  wrote on my Ipad with my Ipod next to me while eating my Ibreakfast, so many Steve Jobs memories surfaced….typing the first draft of my masters thesis on my then roomies circa 1985 Macintosh, one with a HD so small I had to save my work to a floppy disk…. the “1984” commercial at halftime of the Super Bowl when the Redskins got pounded by the Raiders…the black and white  Time Magazine cover of Steve Jobs on a cell phone thanking Bill Gates for the loan that saved Apple in 1998…the numerous Pixar movies I have enjoyed with my family… I even considered the creative and technological marvel of the GUI and the mouse.

Steve Jobs wanted to ding the universe. In doing so, he also dinged our lives. .

Perhaps nothing sums up the man more than the moment he convinced John Sculley to leave the soft drink world and come be the CEO of Apple back in the 1980’s.  It reflects the drive, the ambition, and just the sheer chutzpah of the man:

“Do you want to sell sugar water for the rest of your life, or come with me and change the world?”

God Bless You, Steve, I am going to miss you

Leave a Reply

